1560 N. Minnewawa Ave. Clovis, CA 93619  |  (559) 327-3000

Social Science

Home  \  Academics  \  Social Science

Social Science
Social Science Team
Name Email Subject Website
LD Tina teNyenhuis tinatenyenhuis@cusd.com    
Department Chair  kristinheimerdinger@cusd.com    
Kristin Heimerdinger kristinheimerdinger@cusd.com AP Macroeconomics website
Alvord, Michael  michaelalvord@cusd.com College and Careers; World History website
Casey Carter caseycarter@cusd Government/Econ website
Tom Donald tomdonald@cusd.com  College and Careers; Psych/Sociology website 
Erin Espinoza erinespinoza@cusd,com  Government/Econ website
Pat Geil patgeil@cusd.com US History  website
John Gross johngross@cusd.com  World History website 
Jordana Kaiser jordanakaiser@cusd.com Government/Econ website 
Jennifer O'Meara  jenniferomeara@cusd.com AP Psych  website
Michael Perales michaelperales@cusd.com US History; AVID website
Dave Pickford davepickford@cusd.com World History website
Hillary Perry hillaryperry@cusd,com   US HIstory; Government/Econ website
Laura Riley laurariley@cusd.com AP Government website
Maurine Taylor maurinetaylor@cusd.com AP World History website
Christine Tessler christinetessler@cusd.com AP US History; US History; Leadership website
Wolfe, Alicia aliciawolfe@cusd.com US History; College & Career website
 
Social Science Courses 
AP Macroeconomics
#66G01 (BHS, CEHS, CNHS, CWHS)
Grades: 12
Duration: Semester
Prerequisite: Recommendation from counselor or instructor; Advanced Math or higher recommended; see sight supplement.
AP Macroeconomics A (HP) covers the syllabus necessary for students to pass the AP Macroeconomics exam in May.
 
American Government
#66001 (CCDS)
Grades: 12
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
This semester class covers America’s political foundations; political parties, media and special interest groups; three branches of government: legislative, executive and judicial and their influence on society. The course is the culmination of the civic literacy strand that prepares students to vote, reflect on the responsibilities of citizenship and to participate in community activities.
This class does not meet CSU admission requirements.
 
AP Psychology AB
#66904 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CWHS, CNHS)
Grades: 11-12
Duration: Year Course
Prerequisite: Recommendation from counselor or teacher; see site supplement.
AP Psychology AB (HP) covers the syllabus necessary for students to pass the
AP exam in May for college placement and/or credits. The course is designed to introduce students to the systematic and scientific study of the behavior and mental processes of human beings and other animals.
AP U.S. History AB (HP)
#66402 (BHS, CEHS, CHS, CWHS, CNHS, COS)
Grades: 11-12
Duration: Year Course
Prerequisite: Recommendation of counselor or instructor; students must be above grade level in reading/language; see site supplement.
AP American History AB (HP) covers the syllabus necessary for students to pass the AP exam in May.
 
AP World History AB (HP)
#66013 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CWHS, CNHS)
Grades: 10-12
Duration: Year Course
Prerequisite: Recommendation of 9th grade English teacher and/or counselor. Student must be above grade level in reading/ language; see site supplement.
This course is designed to develop greater understanding of the evolution of global processes and contacts in interaction with different types of human societies and covers the syllabus for students to successfully pass the national exam in May for college placement and/or credits.
 
Career & College 
#33029 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E, CCDS)
Grades: 9
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
Economics A (P)
#66906 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E, CCDS,
CART)
Grades: 12
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
This course builds upon the fundamental concepts presented in the required social science classes. Topics covered include a study of the free market system, labor force, monetary policy, fiscal policy, and international trade.
 
Psychology A (P)
#66907 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E)
Grades: 10-12
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
Psychology A is an introductory course to the study of the individual as a behavioral science. Topics include the biological and social basis of behavior, perception, motivation, intelligence, and personality.
United States History AB (P)
#66408 (BHS, CEHS, CHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E, CCDS),
CART)
Grades: 11
Duration: Year Course
Prerequisite: None
United States History AB (P) continues to build upon the 20th century chronological development of our country to study major themes that have shaped our country’s destiny. The shaping of America’s future depends on a better understanding of her past.
 
World History AB (P)
#66909 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E, CCDS)
Grades: 10
Duration: Year Course
Prerequisite: None
World History AB (P) covers history, geography and economics of selected culture from both the western world and non-western worlds. Themes include the rise of democracy, the effects of nationalism, revolution and imperialism along with industrialization, militarism and the background of current global conflict. The historical backgrounds of the past will be related to our present world situation.
 
Sociology A (P)
#66912 (BHS, CEHS, COS, CWHS, CNHS, GHS, E, CART)
Grades: 10-12
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
Sociology A is an introductory course in the study of groups as a behavioral science, including areas of interest and techniques used. Special emphasis is placed on groups that affect lives of the adolescent, the development of values and the adolescent’s place in society. The course concludes with a look at the causes and consequences of social problems of interest to the adolescent.
World Geography & Cultures A (P)
#66940 (BHS, CHS, CEHS, CNHS, COS, CWHS, GHS, E, CCDS)
Grades: 9
Duration: Semester Course
Prerequisite: None
World Geography and Cultures will explore and discover the processes that shape the earth, the relationship between people and the environment.
Clovis Unified School District: Be the best you can be in mind, body, and spirit
Buchanan Area Schools
Buchanan Alta Sierra Cole Century Dry Creek Garfield Tarpey Woods
Clovis High Area Schools
Clovis High Clark Cedar Wood Mickey Cox Gettysburg Jefferson Red Bank Sierra Vista Weldon Clovis Elementary
Clovis West Area Schools
Clovis West Kastner Ft. Washington Liberty Lincoln Maple Creek Nelson Pinedale Valley Oak
Clovis North Area Schools
Clovis North Bud Rank Copper Hills Fugman Mountain View River View
Clovis East Area Schools
Clovis East Boris Fancher Creek Freedom Miramonte Oraze Temperance Kutner Reagan Elementary
More
Schools
CART Gateway Clovis Online School Clovis Community Day School Clovis Adult Education Sierra Outdoor
View text-based website