1560 N. Minnewawa Ave. Clovis, CA 93619  |  (559) 327-3000

Special Education

Home  \  Academics  \  Special Education

Welcome to Special Education
 
Buchanan High School is very fortunate to have a wide range of educational opportunities for our Special Education population.  Everyone is different and we all learn in different settings.  What Buchanan does is offer different programs that best match the needs of our students.  Programs range from having teachers that just consult or check in on students to Special Day Classes where the students are in the same classroom with the same teacher the entire day.  Each program is designed with the highest level of rigor possible for the students in that program, challenging them to learn at these high levels and expectations. Another wonderful thing about the Buchanan student population is the culture of embracing those around that might be a little different.

Students in the Special Education population have case managers that work individually with the students and develop Individual Educational Plans that is custom designed for each student.  Educational goals are set, some behavior goals could be set, it's really about what the student needs.  Students are identified through a variety of observations, assessments, and conversations with teachers, parents, the student (that comprise the IEP team).

Our students compete in Special Olympics competitions.  They perform in our schoolwide talent show titled "Harmony" with our Leadership students.  And we have a new sports competitive team for the CUSD titled "Clovis United".  These teams will compete against our sister schools in both soccer and basketball.  This new event is being launched this year with the anticipation of it growing to a larger scale.

Our Functional Life Skills students run a small business titled "Coffee Cave".  The students take orders and make specialty coffee drinks.  They run the register and at times deliver the drinks to teachers on the Buchanan Campus. Students learn how to greet customers and other required skills that will help them secure employment once they leave Buchanan.  This small business is a win win for all!

Who are our Special Education Teachers?

Bekah Blanchette - bekahblachette@cusd.com
 
Stephanie Braz - stephaniebraz@cusd.com website
 
 
Caroline Corgiat  - carolinecorgiat@cusd.com
 
Elizabeth Gonzalez  - elizabethgonzalez@cusd.com
 
 
 
Connor Loggins - connorloggins@cusd.com 
 
Noemi Ortiz - noemiortiz@cusd.com 
 
Melinda Pate - melindapate@cusd.com
 
Stephanie Poitras - stephaniepoitras@cusd.com
 
 
Briana Williams - brianawilliams@cusd.com 

Clovis Unified School District: Be the best you can be in mind, body, and spirit
Buchanan Area Schools
Buchanan Alta Sierra Cole Century Dry Creek Garfield Tarpey Woods
Clovis High Area Schools
Clovis High Clark Cedar Wood Mickey Cox Gettysburg Jefferson Red Bank Sierra Vista Weldon Clovis Elementary
Clovis West Area Schools
Clovis West Kastner Ft. Washington Liberty Lincoln Maple Creek Nelson Pinedale Valley Oak
Clovis North Area Schools
Clovis North Bud Rank Copper Hills Fugman Mountain View River View
Clovis East Area Schools
Clovis East Boris Fancher Creek Freedom Miramonte Oraze Temperance Kutner Reagan Elementary Young Elementary
More
Schools
CART Gateway Clovis Online School Clovis Community Day School Clovis Adult Education Sierra Outdoor
View text-based website